When breath becomes air….

It’s hard to write a review for this one. I finished the book with difficulty as I couldn’t read through the last pages, since I couldn’t stop my tears. It is one of best books I have read in years. I didn’t even know who Paul Kalanithi was until I bought this book. Like me, I assume so many readers came to know about him only through this book.What a losers we are.

That man who planned his life so perfectly, who acted upon the plan, and who excelled in whatever he did,and finally faced death with utmost integrity. The way he met life is the way everyone struggles for. They way he understood life is what we all seek every day.

paul

The books is about, a 36 year old neurosurgeon diagnosed with a stage IV lung cancer, narrates what he figured out in his 36 years of life, especially his last days. How his life changed from a life saving doctor to a patient struggling to live. How the future he planned and dreamed of has evaporated in a day. I couldn’t get over his words on life, his view on the value and worth of it, like this one

“What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? ”

1024

Paul died before he could finish the book. Paul’s wife completed the book by giving a memoir of his last days. The last thing he asked her was also the same. By the end, his wife recollects how he spend most of his time in writing, and when his fingers hurt due to the chemo and medications, he used to wear gloves but kept the writing on until he could.I am happy that none of that went in vain. This wonderful book has been New York times best seller last year.

It is a loss if you miss this one. Its one single solution if you still are wondering on what you gonna do when life and death comes face to face. Like Paul quoted Samuel Beckett in his book, we all will say, ‘I can’t go on. I’ll go on’.

 

 

Leave a Reply

