Dear Zindagi

Let me start with a disclaimer. This is not a movie review. Though I would recommend you to go and watch it, if you haven’t yet. The movie has an important message, on the importance of mental health.

20141223190829-5-ways-dreamers-become-doers

I loved the movie. But my husband was sleeping all throughout the show. And that’s the single reason I am writing this. Of course, am not stating that my husband has done anything wrong, but I felt, in this scenario, he depicts a common man’s picture. Why we don’t want to talk about mental health issues? Why we think that it’s something to be kept as a secret? Why is it considered deadlier than any other disease?

We live in a world, where we do minimum physical activity but use our intelligence, memory, thinking ability and mental power in most of the situations, even in day to day jobs. How many times in a day, we say ‘ ah, this is driving me crazy’. Or we ask, ‘are you gone mad?’. These sentences are commonly used but we never imagine that it could be true. Because we care a damn about our mental health. And that is wrong.

we-need-to-change-the-culture-of-this-topic-and-make-it-ok-to-speak-about-mental-health-and-suicide-luke-richardson-800x455

My husband is a man who is mentally very strong. Which makes it hard for him to understand there are people who go through the hardest phases of stress every day. I am exactly opposite to my husband, which means…ya, am not that mentally strong. I am person who gets tensed fast, who stresses on most of the things, and sadly anxiety is my childhood friend who is in constant touch with me even now. I am not worried about a kidney failure or heart attack, but my mind because I know that’s my weakest part.

So here is the thing. If you are going through a hard time, first of all its not your fault. Second, you can’t just ignore it. And most importantly its not an imaginary issue. So here is my little advice.

eb6ca61b9f8ecffca7ebae75b7f4c706

  1. Keep constant care of yourself, mentally
  2. If you feel low for more than week, seek help
  3. Accept that some people must deal with the situation throughout their lives, and its completely normal
  4. Make yourself a priority – Do things that make you happy, be with people who make you happy
  5. Stop ‘taking things the way they are’ or compromising – That’s is what society want you to do, not what you want to do. Whatever it is, do it your way, unless you are planning to murder someone.
  6. If you are like my husband, know that everyone is not like you and be patient and compassionate because even though everyone is on a different path we still can help each other to go ahead.

Stay strong.

 

Leave a Reply

